Healdsburg AAUW Board Retreat Branch Business Meeting Minutes August 12, 2024

Location: Home of Julie Hanamura

Board Members Attending: Quorum = 8

Nancy Jane Andrews, President
Celeste Plaister, Vice President
Pam Jones, Secretary
Julie Hanamura, Treasurer
Kim Alexander, Communications Director
Dena Cochran, Fundraising Co-Director
Renee Simi, Fundraising Co-Director
Janice Sexton, Membership Co-Director
Donna Campoverde, Membership Co-Director
Patty McHugh, STEM Director

Absent:

Kerry Weiner Elkind, Scholarship Director Cathy Mock, Mission-based Programs Director Linda Clark, Social Activities Director Laura Tredinnick, Past President

1. Call to Order: President Nancy Jane Andrews called the meeting to order at 3:50pm. The AAUW Healdsburg Branch is an IRS tax-exempt 501(c)(4) social welfare organization which primarily operates the chapter's member and policy programs. Dues are not tax deductible.

2. 2024-2025 FY Final Branch Budget:

Treasurer Julie Hanamura presented the proposed final 20224-2025 FY Budget, noting that the sole revenue of the Branch is from \$33/year member dues. Celeste Plaister moved and Kim Alexander seconded the adoption of the budget. Approval was unanimous. Final Budget will be attached.

Revenue: \$6,270 Expenses: \$7,010 Difference: (\$740)

3. Positions and Programs

a. Nancy noted the positions of Public Policy Director and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

Director are vacant.

b. Celeste shared people and organizations for the upcoming Speakers Series, which will be held the second Mondays of the month at noon.

4. Goals

The board adopted four goals for the 2024-2025 year:

- a. To increase member donations to 75% of membership
- b. To increase membership to 200 paid members
- c. To focus on and provide outreach for diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) in all programs
- d. To support Tech Trek and Tech Trek Alumni Group (TTAG) onward and upward!

5. Adjourn

The Branch meeting was adjourned at 5:05pm. Next Board meeting 9/9/24 at the Community Center.

Respectfully submitted, Pam Jones, Secretary

Approvals: (6 required)

Nancy Jane Andrews
Pam Jones
Kim Alexander
Donna Campoverde
Julie Hanamura
Patty McHugh
Dena Cochran
Celeste Plaister
Renee Simi