Healdsburg AAUW Board Minutes: End Of Year Branch Meeting Date: May 18, 2024

Location: Stanley Residence, 437 West Dry Creek Road, Healdsburg Time: 12:45 pm

Board Members Attending: Laura Tredinnick, Nancy Jane Andrews, Kim Alexander, Tyra Benoit, Linda Clark, Kate Van Ness, Dena Cochran, Janice Sexton, Patty McHugh, Cathy Mock, Kate Van Ness, Kerry Elkind Weiner. Absent: Donna Campoverde

Total Attendance: 60

1. Call to Order

President Laura Tredinnick opened the Branch Meeting at 12:45 pm. Laura welcomed new members.

2. 2024 Goals and Accomplishments

Laura summarized the goals set forth last September by the board.

- Improve end-of-year member donations from the current 30% to 75%.
 - End-of-year member donations increased from 30% to 56%
- Support a semi-annual action to support DEI.
 - We held a January event focused on Reproductive Choice and showed the film "Fly So Far" about how women in El Salvador are being prosecuted and imprisoned for miscarriages. The film was followed by a panel of local doctors and a representative from Planned Parenthood discussing the state of reproductive health globally, nationally, and in Sonoma County. Additional participation and collaboration with Indivisible Healdsburg and Sister District were part of the event.
 - We showed the same film to a Spanish-speaking audience on May 17 at the Community Center.
- Continue to develop a long-term fundraising plan.
 - Several ideas were researched. None looked promising for longterm fundraising. Our traditional Homes Tour is being looked at again. In the past, the Homes Tour has raised between \$35 and \$60 K annually
- Develop a plan for the Speakers Series by December 31 and implement it by early 2024.
 - The Speakers Series commenced in January, with our last speaker, from the SMART train on May 13.
- Pursue possible development of new interest groups such as Art, Garden, Mahjong, and Movie.
 - A new Travel group has been formed.

3. Long Term Member Recognition

Nola Colbert was recognized for 40 years of membership. Judy Edmonds was recognized for 25 years of membership.

4. Committee Member Recognition

Board members recognized the work done by members of the following committees:

- Scholarships
 - High School Scholarships -- 12 x \$2,000 = \$24,000
 - JNR Foundation Scholarships 8 x \$4,000 = \$32,000
 - SRJC Reentry Scholarships 5 x \$4,000 = \$20,000
 - Garren Fund Scholarships 2 x \$4,000 = \$8,000
- Public Policy
 - Reproductive Choice Event in English and Spanish
 - Participated in Petaluma's Gun Violence Event
 - Letter writing to congressional swing districts
 - Climate Fest
- Membership
 - Continued New member socials and orientation
 - Continued buddies program
 - Membership now 189 members
- Administration
 - Budget stable
 - Started new Speakers Series
 - Rewrote the bylaws
 - Participated in Gun Violence Event wrote article
- STEM
- 8 Tech Trek Scholarships awarded
- Participated in Climate Fest
- TTAG expanded
- Social
 - Happy Hour Montagne Russe, Longboard, Merriam
 - Lunch Bunch The Matheson, Bollywood, Charlie's
 - Cultural Events
 - SMART Train to Larkspur
 - Marine Mammal Center
 - SR Recycling Center
 - Wine n Dine October February, April, June
 - Holiday Party, Fall Kickoff, Spring Celebration
- Mission-Based Programs
 - Junior Internship Night at High School
 - Financial Literacy Night
 - Added Reading Rocks at Mattie Washburn, now at 3 schools
 - Books to all first-grade children at Westside and Healdsburg Elementary
 - School supplies funding of \$410
- Fundraising
 - Raised nearly \$30,000 from end-of-year appeal
 - Received grants of \$32,000
 - Exceeded our Spring Event goal by \$2,600
 - Met all fundraising goals
- Communications
 - Kept members informed via over 100 e-blasts

- All events listed on the website
- Ten Grapevine issues including New Member Bios and Scholarship Success Stories
- Front page article re: Tech Trek in the Healdsburg Tribune
- Thinking-of-you cards sent to members
- Social Media Posts Looking for an Instagram User!

5. Bylaws Vote

- Branch Bylaws: Nancy Haiston made the motion to accept the revised Branch Bylaws, Kerry Weiner seconded it and it passed unanimously.
- Fund Bylaws: Nancy Haiston made the motion to accept the revised Fund Bylaws Kerry Weiner seconded it and it passed unanimously.

6. New Board Intro

Nominating Committee

- Nancy Jane Andrews
- o Linda Clark
- o Julie Hanamura
- o Liz Loebel

President - Nancy Jane Andrews Past President - Laura Tredinnick Vice President - Celeste Plaister Secretary - Pam Jones Treasurer - Julie Hanamura Communications Director - Kim Alexander Fundraising Director - Dena Cochran/Renee Simi Scholarships Director - Dena Cochran/Renee Simi Scholarships Director - Kerry Weiner Elkind Membership Directors - Donna Campoverde/Janice Sexton Mission Based Programs Director - Cathy Mock Social Activities Director - Linda Clark STEM Director - Patty McHugh

No nominations were made from the floor. Anna Laura made the motion to accept the nominating committee's slate of officers, seconded by Nancy Haiston. It passed unanimously.

Nancy Jane presented Laura with a Past President's Pin. Other Past Presidents in attendance were: Kate Van Ness, Liz Loebel, Judy Edmonds, Linda Clark, Ronnie Devitt, Nancy Haiston, Nola Colbert, Charlotte Garner, and Sue Campbell.

6. Adjourn

Laura Tredinnick closed the Branch Meeting at 1:25 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy Jane Andrews, VP (for Donna Campoverde)